My name is Helen and I live in West Yorkshire with my husband and our 3 little girls. I was diagnosed with CFS in 2007 and also have chronic pain in my hips and lower back which means I use a stick and a wheelchair to get around. We have twin girls who are now 3 and a 6 year old daughter.

Having studied Law, sociology and mental health studies with the Open University, I am keen to pursue a career in community development. I am hoping to study towards a degree in Youth Work and Community Development and am therefore looking for projects which will enable me to do this.

I am also interested in welfare rights and social policy and worked previously as a learning disability support worker and a care worker with the elderly. I also cared for my Grandmother who had dementia and therefore I have a particular interest in supporting carers and integrating people with disabilities and the elderly back into mainstream society.

At the age of 14 I became a founding member of Beverley Youth Council and this experience has led me to being passionate about providing opportunities for communities to listen to and engage with their young people.

My final passion is with regards to communities. I feel too many young families are being moved away from family, friends and support networks due to a lack of affordable housing. I have watched and read about many empty home schemes and feel that they are the way forward – not just to provide houses but also to provide opportunities for people to rebuild their lives.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s